Wingate’s ESU Shakespeare Competition: March 4, 2015

“I would be loath to cast away my speech: for besides that it is excellently well penned, I have taken great pains to con it” (1.5.167-69). –Viola from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night

One of my favorite scenes from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night is Viola’s first encounter with Olivia, as Viola (or Cesario) attempts to woo Olivia for Orlando. Her words of frustration as she tries to speak the speech she memorized echo the sentiments of all of our contestants, I am sure, when the weather forced us to postpone our competition. I hope all of our contestants and teachers will be able to join us for our rescheduled event! Wingate’s English Department and our local English-Speaking Union branch love hosting this event each year for our talented middle and high school students.

This entry was posted in Higher Education, Pedagogy, Shakespeare, Teaching Literature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.